Lodge Golan

Consecrated 31 March 1974

Consecration President - Bro Barry Lipschitz

Cape Town

Cape Town is the legislative capital of South Africa, colloquially named the Mother City. It is the legislative capital of South Africa and primate city of the Western Cape province. It forms part of the City of Cape Town metropolitan municipality.

The Parliament of South Africa sits in Cape Town.[8] The other two capitals are located in Pretoria (the executive capital where the Presidency is based) and Bloemfontein (the judicial capital where the Supreme Court of Appeal is located).[9] The city is known for its harbour, for its natural setting in the Cape Floristic Region, and for landmarks such as Table Mountain and Cape Point. Cape Town is home to 64% of the Western Cape's population. It is one of the most multicultural cities in the world, reflecting its role as a major destination for immigrants and expatriates to South Africa.[11] The city was named the World Design Capital for 2014 by the International Council of Societies of Industrial Design. In 2014, Cape Town was named the best place in the world to visit by both The New York Times and The Daily Telegraph.

Naming of the Lodge

The Golan Heights or simply the Golan, is a region in the Levant, spanning about 1,800 square kilometres (690 sq mi). The region defined as the Golan Heights differs between disciplines: as a geological and biogeographical region, the Golan Heights is a basaltic plateau bordered by the Yarmouk River in the south, the Sea of Galilee and Hula Valley in the west, the Anti-Lebanon with Mount Hermon in the north and Wadi Raqqad in the east; and as a geopolitical region, the Golan Heights is the area captured from Syria and occupied by Israel during the 1967 Six-Day War, territory which has been administered as part of Israel since 1981. This region includes the western two-thirds of the geological Golan Heights and the Israeli-occupied part of Mount Hermon.

Jews in Cape Town

As the oldest Jewish community in South Africa, Cape Town's organized communal life provided the pattern for the future development of South African Jewry. The Cape Town Hebrew congregation, the first in South Africa, dates back to 1841. The first synagogue, which still stands, was built in 1849. It was called Tikvath Israel ("Hope of Israel"), a reference to "good hope". Isaac Pulver was the first minister (1849-1851). He was succeeded by Joel Rabinowitz (1859-1882), Abraham Frederick Ornstien (1882-1895), Alfred Philip Bender (1895-1937), and Israel Abrahams (1937-1968). As the Jewish community grew, other congregations and synagogues were established. The present great synagogue, a beautifully situated synagogue, was inaugurated in 1905. 

IMG-20180819-WA0016IMG-20180819-WA0012IMG-20180819-WA0014IMG-20180819-WA0013IMG-20180819-WA0005IMG-20180819-WA0004IMG-20180806-WA0032Travis joelaprilpics10 363SDC10496SDC10494SDC10491SDC10490SDC10489SDC10488HOD_244Lodge 092 CSDC10496SDC10494SDC10488Golan Sept 2011Golan Lodge 092 CLodge 038.II CInstallation 2011Wor Bro Stan ChertkowSDC10498SDC10499SDC10500Wor Bro Michael SandlerWor Bro Ronnie GerdisWor Bro Vic PearceWor Bro Con TravisBro Selwyn KatzeffBro Adrian BaskirWor Bro David Scher
Tel:+27 (011) 640 3017
Email:[email protected]
Postal Address:

P O Box 46063 Orange Grove Johannesburg 2119


Wor Bro Con Travis
Wor Bro Conrad Colin Travis



Wor Bro Michael Sandler, Dr
Bro Barry Lipschitz
Bro Benjamin Kaplan
Bro Malcolm Serman
Bro Joe Varkul
Bro Brian Samuel Vogelman
Bro Milton Sidney Shenker
Bro H Levine
Bro Ephraim Samuel Kagan
Bro Joseph Lionel Morris
Wor Bro Samuel Israel (Stan) Chertkow
Bro Jeffery Colin Schneider
Bro Cyril Howard Braude
Wor Bro Milton Harold Gerdis
Wor Bro Isadore Cecil Miller
Bro David Mark Scher
Bro Brian French
Bro Stanley Ian Miller
Wor Bro Maurice (Mo) Stoltzman
Bro Adrian Darryl Baskir
Bro David Castle
Wor Bro Ronald Gerdis
Wor Bro Maurice Hyman Baskir
Wor Bro Rodney Blumberg
Wor Bro Victor Pearce
Bro Selwyn Katzeff
Wor Bro Jeffery Rosen
Bro Warren Zelek Bravo