David Ben Gurion Lodge

Consecrated 1 February 1948

The London Jewish Chronicle of 5 January 1907 reported that "dispensation has been granted to a new branch of the Hebrew Order of Druids at Krugersdorp".  It seems that  the Krugersdorp Lodge - (later known as the David Ben Gurion Lodge, after it was reconsecrated in 1948) - was formed in 1907, and not in 1910 as is frequently assumed.


Krugersdorp (Afrikaans for Kruger's town) is a mining city in the West Rand, Gauteng Province, South Africa founded in 1887 by Marthinus Pretorius. Following the discovery of gold on the Witwatersrand, a need arose for a major town in the west of the reef. The government bought part of the Paardekraal farm and named the new town after the Transvaal president, Paul Kruger. Krugersdorp no longer has a separate municipal government after it was integrated into Mogale City Local Municipality along with surrounding towns. It is now the seat of government for Mogale City.

Naming of the Lodge

David Ben GurionThe Lodge is named in honour of David Ben-Gurion born David Grün; 16 October 1886 – 1 December 1973, the primary national founder of the State of Israel and the first Prime Minister of Israel.

David Ben Gurion
Tel:+27 (011) 640 3017
Email:[email protected]
Postal Address:

P O Box 46063 Orange Grove Johannesburg South Africa