Sir Herbert Samuel Lodge

Consecrated 1921


Springs is a main place, and formerly independent town, in the east of Ekurhuleni in the Gauteng province of South Africa. It lies 50 km (31 mi) east of Johannesburg and 72 km (45 mi) southeast from Pretoria. The name of Springs derives from the large number of springs in the area; it has an estimated population of more than 121,610 in 2011 and is situated at 1628 m (5,340 ft) a.s.l.[2]

Springs was divided during the Apartheid era into the middle- and upper-income white suburbs around the city centre, the Indian area of Bakerton east of the CBD, while black people were relocated to KwaThema,[3] southwest of the CBD. Read more...

Naming of the Lodge

Sir Herbert SamuelThe Lodge is named in honour of Herbert Louis Samuel, 1st Viscount Samuel, GCB, OM, GBE, PC (6 November 1870 – 5 February 1963) was a British Liberal politician who was the party leader from 1931 to 1935. He was the first nominally-practising Jew, although a personal atheist, to serve as a Cabinet minister and to become the leader of a major British political party. Samuel was the last member of the Liberal Party to hold one of the four Great Offices of State. He also served as a diplomat.

One of the adherents of "New Liberalism", Samuel helped to draft and present social reform legislation while he was serving as a Liberal cabinet member.

Sir Herbert Samuel
Tel:+27 (011) 640 3017
Email:[email protected]
Postal Address:

P O Box 46063 Orange Grove Johannesburg 2119




Wor Bro L Kapelus
Wor Bro David Panovka
Bro Israel Effren
Bro Samuel Redhill
Bro E (Zuk) Melamed
Bro J Kapelus
Bro Max Goldstein
Wor Bro Rubin Zilibowitz
Wor Bro Solomon (Solly) Jossel
Bro E O Kahlberg
Wor Bro Louis Gordon
Wor Bro Kenneth Harry Stoloff
Wor Bro Basil (Bob) Vivien Levitas
Wor Bro Hymie Aaron Heyman
Wor Bro I Jackson
Wor Bro Arnold T Levitas
Wor Bro Benjamin Bernard Miller
Wor Bro Dennis Arthur Hammerschlag
Wor Bro Montague Wolpert
Wor Bro Henry Leo Davids
Wor Bro John Goldberg
Wor Bro Max Kort
Wor Bro Aubrey Berkowitz
Wor Bro Jacob Lieberthal
Wor Bro Meyrick Clive Levitas
Bro Robert Shenker
Wor Bro Clive Philmore Moss (Mowsowitz)
Bro Wolf Steven Lustig
Bro D Karp
Bro Neil Howard Weltman
Bro Cyril Levy
Wor Bro Jack Morris Krawitz
Wor Bro Max Basil Klass
Wor Bro Wilfred Joel (Boozie) cohen
Bro A Kapelus
Bro J Lief
Bro C Tosefsky
Wor Bro Barney Gishen
Bro C M Zeff