Lodge Netanya

Consecrated 27 March 1977

In 1977 following investigation and negotiation Lodge Netanya was Consecrated in Salisbury, Zimbabwe.The brethren of Lodge Ashkelon assisted greatly in the successful establishment of the Lodge.

Bro Wolfie Blacher was elected the Consecration President.

By 1976 the strength of the Order had been greatly increased and the numbers of Lodges had also substantially increased.  The whole face of the Order had changed since 1964 when only sixteen Lodges were in existence. 


Harare, officially Salisbury until 1982 is the capital and most populous city of Zimbabwe. The city proper has an area of 960.6 km (371 mi) and an estimated population of 1,606,000 in 2009,] with 2,800,000 in its metropolitan area in 2006. Situated in north-eastern Zimbabwe in the country's Mashonaland region, Harare is a metropolitan province, which also incorporates the municipalities of Chitungwiza and Epworth. The city sits on a plateau at an elevation of 1,483 metres (4,865 feet) above sea level and its climate falls into the subtropical highland category.

Naming of the Lodge

Netanya is a city in the Northern Central District of Israel, and is the capital of the surrounding Sharon plain. It is 30 km (18.64 mi) north of Tel Aviv, and 56 km (34.80 mi) south of Haifa, between Nahal Poleg and Wingate Institute in the south and the 'Avichail' stream in the north. Netanya was named in honor of Nathan Straus, a prominent Jewish American merchant and philanthropist in the early 20th century who was the co-owner of Macy's department store.

Jews in Harare

The history of the Jews in Zimbabwe reaches back over one century. Present-day Zimbabwe was formerly known as Southern Rhodesia and later as Rhodesia. Read more ....

Also read - History of Jewry in Zimbabwe by Wor Bro David Gelfand

Lodge Netanya 1977Lodge Netanya 1977Lodge Netanya Consecration 1977Lodge Netanya 1978Lodge NetanyaLodge Netanya
Tel:+27 (011) 6403017
Email:[email protected]
Postal Address:

P O Box 46063 Orange Grove Johannesburg Gauteng South Africa 2119




Bro Joseph Leon
Bro Adolf Leon
Bro Siegfried (Freddy) Wiesenbacher
Bro Roy Michael Sacks
Bro Victor Alhadeff
Bro Edward Conrad Salomon
Bro Wolfie Blacher
Bro Reuben Moss
Bro Jack Amato